An initiative of Brisbane City Council

Artforce Brisbane
An initiative of Brisbane City Council


Brisbane City Council’s annual Artforce Brisbane Awards is an all-ages celebration. Held annually, the Awards showcase Artforce Brisbane artworks completed in the preceding 12 months.

The awards recognise outstanding artwork in the following categories:

Lord Mayor’s Award

Best Overall Traffic Signal Box

Best Energex Box

Best 12 and Under

Best 18 and Under

Best High School

Best Primary School, Kindy and Creche

Best Organisation

People’s Choice

All Artforce Brisbane participants are eligible for an award.

Participants who have painted a traffic signal box will be entered into the Lord Mayor’s award and Overall Winner categories.   

Energex Pad-mount Transformers (EPT) have their own separate category ‘Best Energex Box’ and EPT participants are not eligible for other category awards.

All participants will be entered into the People’s Choice Award.

The Artforce Brisbane Awards are judged and selected by an independent judging panel. All eligible Artforce participants receive an invitation to attend.

The ‘Burbs
Lucy, Joanna and Miriam Wales

2021 Winners

Lord Mayor’s Award

Name: Lisa-Marie Vecchio
Title: High hopes and green slopes (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0475, Juliette St & Earl St, Greenslopes

Overall winner

Name: Natasha Chee & Calum Prasser
Title: Spring Hill in Springtime (view artwork)
Location: TSB 8114, Gregory Tce & Victoria Park entry road, Spring Hill

Best Energex box

Name: Siobhan Browne
Title:  Welcome to the Big Top (view artwork)
Location: SC22658, 1290 Logan Rd, Mt Gravatt

12 and under – winner

Name: Mary Nisbet-Smith
Title: Peggy the five leggy (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0639, Annerley Rd & Tamar St & Rusk St, Annerley

18 and under

Name: D.K. Perkins
Title: There’s always a Silver Lining (view artwork)
Location: TSB 8116, Sylvan Rd near Kate St, Toowong

Best Primary School & Early Childhood Centre

Name: Little Scholars School of Early Learning with artist Dylan Sarra
Title: Child’s Mind (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0072, Turbot st & George St, Brisbane City

Best Senior School

Name: Iona College
Title: Graham’s Crossing (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0967, North Rd pedestrian crossing at Iona College, Wynnum West

Best Organisation

Name: Hope for Life Mentors
Title: A Small Gift (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0681, Old Cleveland Rd & Cavendish Rd, Coorparoo

People’s Choice

Name: Jennifer Garcia Rodriguez
Title: Thinking of green (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0176, South Pine Rd & Railway Place, Alderley

Spring Hill in Springtime
Overall 2021 Winner

By Natasha Chee & Calum Prasser

Grand Designs of Woolloongabba
Overall 2019 – 2020 Winner

By Helen and Gemma Lucas

2019 – 2020 Winners

Lord Mayor’s Award

Name: Ben Hynes
Title: I See You (view artwork)
Location: TSB 8021, Beams Rd & Carselgrove Ave & Golden Pl, Fitzgibbon

Name: Lucy, Joanna and Miriam Wales
Title: The ‘Burbs (view artwork)
Location: TSB 8090, Upper Kedron Road & Cemetry Road, Ferny Grove 

Overall winner

Name: Helen and Gemma Lucas
Title: Grand Designs of Woolloongabba (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0428, Stanley St & Annerley Rd, South Brisbane

Best Energex box

Name: Kseniia Bessonova
Title: Joy (view artwork)
Location: SC840295, School Road (60) & Albemarle Street, Yeronga

12 and under – winner

Name: Zoe Hodder
Title: Brisbane Port Giraffes (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0501, Florence St (Pedestrian Crossing) & Wynnum Central State School, Wynnum

18 and under

Name: Dylan Ebeling
Title: Healthy at Hibiscus (view artwork)
Location: TSB B0633, Creek Road and Donnington Road, Carina Heights

Best organisation

Name: YMCA Vocational School
Title: Looking Back, Moving Forward (view artwork)
Location: TSB 0654, Boundary Rd & Progress Rd, Wacol

2018 – 2019 Winners

Lord Mayor’s Award

Name: Jenn Heibloem
Title: Swinburne Street Healthy Lifestyle (view artwork)
Location: EPT SC3877, Swinburne Street and Lutwyche Road, Lutwyche

Overall winner

Name: Maxim Chikanchi
TitleCity Seizing (view artwork)
Location: TSB B0066, Wickham Street and Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley 

Best Energex box

Name: Catherine Pepper
TitleGabba Growth (view artwork)
Location: SC11955, Annerley Road (near Grove Street), Woolloongabba

12 and under

Name: Sienna Finch
Title: A Stroll by the Brook (view artwork)
Location: TSB B0896, Shaw Road opposite the tennis centre entrance, Wooloowin

18 and under

Name: Kate Eddington
Title: Carseldine Cats (view artwork)
Location: TSB B0633, Creek Road and Donnington Road, Carina Heights

Best organisation

Name: Eating Disorders Queensland
Title: No Wrong Way to Have a Body (view artwork)
Location: TSB B0140, Sherwood Road and Jephson Street, Toowong

City Seizing
Overall 2018 – 2019 Winner

By Maxim Chikanchi, Woolloongabba

You can view the all the winning entries on the Council website here

Register your interest 
to paint a traffic signal box


You must be a resident of Brisbane ie. living within the Brisbane City Council area.
You must not be an employee of Brisbane City Council.
You must not have painted more than two traffic signal boxes in a four year period and not in consecutive years.

Subscribe to our mailing list